top of page

Art is Subjective

Beginning January 1st, 2022, I will be increasing my prices for all of my photo sessions and wedding packages. I would not be able to do this without the support of many of my clients who trust that my work is something worth investing into. If you book with me by December 31st, 2021, any session during any date of 2022 will be the same price as it is listed on my website. If you have already booked with me for next year, your rate is already locked in.




Some people do not feel a need to give a reason for their price increases, but for the sake of being transparent and honest about the photography industry, here are some ideas worth looking into:


Art is subjective. What might be a "good photo" or a "bad drawing" to one person will be totally different to another. My art of photography is typically subjective to myself, my clients, and the hundreds of other people who will experience the same images and build thousands of different emotions based upon their viewpoint of images I've captured.


So, if art is subjective, doesn't that mean the value is subjective as well? Of course. The value of my art in comparison to others differs based on what their view of most important is. A good face-to-face experience with the creator, quality work, and quantity all play a factor into the value of any type of art work. Would you rather invest in a timeless masterpiece from Ansel Adams, or your neighbor with a disposable film camera? Of course, this isn't a serious question, but you get the point.


I remember doing my FIRST wedding for $75. Talk about selling myself short. Some of my most favorite images came from that wedding alone, but I definitely underestimated my value and my time. As I have gained more experience with several weddings under my belt, changing my editing style more than once (oof), and lots and lots of practice, I can safely say that I know my value and my true worth in photography at this point in my life. I am nowhere near where I would like to be as a photographer, but I know my true worth in life comes from Jesus Christ, who gave me the ability to provide images worth framing in your homes. For that, I am grateful to know that my work and my art is worth preserving.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page